I used to follow all the White House scandals. Now it’s all just a blur. It’s tiring to try to keep track of all the ways Bush is corrupt.

He blithely declares that the laws Congress is passing are not binding, and then goes ahead and violates them. He (or Cheney or Rove) pushes the Attorney General to fire U.S. Attorneys who aren’t prosecuting Democrats quickly enough before an election. Tomorrow it will be something else. I’ve forgotten more of Bush’s scandals, due to sheer volume, than I ever remember happening with another president. If Iran-contra happened tomorrow, say, I imagine it would be forgotten within a week. It’s just the normal way of doing business for them.

At some point, you just have to hope that the public gets it. From Bush’s poll numbers, I suppose they do. And maybe the Democrats in Congress will do what it they can restore accountability and respect for the Constitution. What else can you do? The remaining 32 percent, are they unpersuadable? Because I just don’t feel like I have it in me to have a knockdown fight with whoever still supports the Republicans at this point.

Maybe it’s just a matter of waiting it out. Until then, I’ll just post occasional links in a futile attempt to persuade the others that no, this isn’t the way things are supposed to be done.

