Hi Trina! You get the prize of being the first to write a comment. I guess there really is somebody out there. We’ll have to catch up. 

Isabel got me a jaw harp on her trip to St. Louis. Andy gave me one back in the day, when we were young and naive and lived on Sunnyside, but I never got very good at it. I tried it out again, and all the heavy breathing got me lightheaded, and then I whacked my head on the nightstand. To show Isa how it should properly sound, I played her my favorite jaw harp song, by Leonard Cohen:

A bunch of lonesome and very quarrelsome heroes
were standing out along the open road.
The night was very dark and thick between them
each one beneath his very ordinary load.

I’d like to tell my story,
said one of them so bold
I’d like to tell my story,
before I turn into gold

But no one really could hear him…

Beyond the fabulous jaw-harping in the background, I just love the story of that song. All these old people, heroes in their own worlds, wanting to share what they’ve accomplished, but nobody wanting much to listen. Kind of like the blogosphere, I imagine.

It also reminds me of Isa’s business idea, which we kick around from time to time. It would be writing down peoples’ life stories for them, making little books of them based on interviews, capitalizing on people’s inherent desire not to be forgotten. It’s not an original idea, as there are web sites all over the web, but I’m sure there’s a niche for one more. I’ll need something to do while I’m generating materials for my own fascinating life story, in any case.

